For Mom

When I think of my mom, I think of light.

Mom loves sunshine, fresh air, blue skies. I have so many memories of being outside with Mom, on bikes, walking, exploring, sitting surrounded by flowers. I will never forget taking the boat with her to Capri. She looked both completely happy and completely beautiful. Some day I hope to take that trip with her again.

When I think of my mom, I think of light.

She has a quality about her that she’s not quite attached to the ground; there’s no danger that she’ll fly away, but Mom never plods. I never wondered what the phrase “trip the light fantastic” meant, because I had been watching Mom do it my entire life. It’s only in the last few years that her pace has slowed to normal so that the world can try to keep up with her. Her mind still speeds along, curious, vibrant, even a little greedy in the best possible way. I know that I got my intrepid streak from Mom; she taught me that sometimes you have to boldly rush in where angels fear to tread, because sometimes the fool is the smartest one in the room. And often, the one having the most fun.

Mom makes gray days sunny, and is so at home in sunshine that I naturally gravitate to her when the weather is fine. She’s the person I want to celebrate good news with and bounce new ideas off of. When I feel like people are being jerks or unfair or simply unfathomable, I want Mom’s take on them; she has a knack for cutting to the heart of why I’m reacting the way I am.

Most of all, I think of my mom’s gift for bringing light into darkness. She came to see me every couple of months when Karl was dying, an act of love that helped keep me alive and hopeful. She has been there for me in every dark hour, and she is the one I turn to first when things look bleak. At the worst times of my life, she has infused me with the power of her love, her optimism, and of her wonderful, absurd sense of humor. I’m not the only one: her friend Zoe, our mutual friend Elizabeth, my dad, all of her kids, and countless others. She has been such a force for good, for love, for healing.

She’s a wonderful friend.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. Thank you for bringing so much light, and lightness, into my life.

I love you.

One thought on “For Mom

Leave a Reply

