The 3 Faces of Nan…

First, let me jump on a bandwagon. A while back, I wrote about my college housemate, Jane Lynch. I am thrilled that she won for Glee (she should have won last year); she’s the best, and I think one good, thing about that show. I knew her when. Isn’t that a weird expression?

I just posted something to one of my other blogs, brandingbroad.wordpress.com. I was very thrilled with James Wolcott’s assessment of my writing, but will admit I’m a little schizophrenic when it comes to expression. With the personal, I tend to be much more careful, but The Broad allows free vent to  my id and its attendant aggression. It’s an entirely different kind of writing and tends to be much more stream of consciousness. It’s not going to be everyone’s cup of tea, but I need it. Advertising is a strange world, one that demands you be in constant touch with your most reactive self. Welcome to my frame of mind on a typical workday.

My other project is to watch the 1001 Movies I Must See Before I Die one at a time. Bizarrely, with all the movies I’ve watched over the years, I had only managed to knock out under 400 until I started going down the list in earnest. I have huge gaps in my education, particularly film; the list is a great way to fill them. I just passed number 50 (Little Caesar), and have to buy a few outliers unavailable through either Netflix, Blockbuster Online, or the library. It has been generally thrilling, if sometimes a mite groany (D.W. Griffith, you’re awesome, but can you lighten up on the preaching?) to view the movies in sequence. It’s also amazing to see cinema being invented; it remains my favorite art form. When I was in 7th grade and my parents took me to see a rerelease of The 10 Commandments, I couldn’t stop talking about it for days (I write this blushing; truly, there is nothing more sublimely silly than Ann Baxter cooing, “Moses, Moses, Moses”, but in my adolescent imagination, it was high art). I’ve never stopped loving movies.

They’re different sides of me. Dip in if you like.

Leave a Reply

